ISN’T IT FUNNY HOW…

Isn’t it funny how you’re not taken seriously because u have a mental illness?!?! How your viewed as someone that has no cognition skills!! More or less cared for as if u were brain dead!! Or treated as if u have no feelings or emotions! Just like that healthcare worker that talks really loud to u and super slow so u can understand them better! I am not deaf and I am not dumb! Why are they talking to me like I am??? Or they view everything that u say as a blatant lie. I was asked by a healthcare worker onetime what I did for a living. I said I was a nurse! He said “your not a nurse, that’s such a lie!” I said “go look in my purse, my nursing license is in there!” He said “good one!” He laughed and then walked away! That was pretty degrading to me! Good grief! If people in the healthcare business treat u like this, what is the general population going to treat u like? I already know…it’s best to keep your diagnosis under wraps. Even if they find out later and they accepted u when they didn’t know, when they do find out…they treat u like u have the plague!! SMH!!!

2 thoughts on “ISN’T IT FUNNY HOW…

  1. hi. i’m a former RN. and yeah, i don’t know what’s up with health care professionals treating their mentally ill patients like sh!t. and shrinks and psychiatric nurses are their very own special kind of arrogant. i am so sorry you were treated so terribly.

    1. Thank you for your thoughtful kind words. I worked in the healthcare field for over 30 years in various positions as a CNA, Floor Nurse, Nurse Manager, ADON and DON. It was disheartening to see the perspective from the patients side. I always was an advocate for the patients because I fully believed in quality patient care. Needless to say, there are those few that shouldn’t be working in this field.

Leave a Reply

